| REVEALED | Themba Zwane leads list for 2019/20 PSL Awards nominations | REVEALED | Themba Zwane leads list for 2019/20 PSL Awards nominations
Themba Zwane (Gallo Images)

Themba Zwane (Gallo Images)

The Premier Soccer League have officially announced the list of nominees for the 2019/20 PSL Awards.

The awards will be held next week Thursday, 22 October at 20:00 in a virtual event ahead of the start of the Premiership.

Samir Nurkovic (Kaizer Chiefs), Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park), Gaston Sirino and Themba Zwane (both Mamelodi Sundowns) will battle for the coveted prize of 2019/20 PSL Footballer of the Season.

This year, there are four nominees instead of the normal three after the players were tied on votes and could not be separated even after using the provisions in the rules to eliminate names.

Voting for the PSL Footballer of the Season is done by Premier Division coaches only.

Zwane features again amongst the nominees for the Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season. He is competing with teammate Hlompho Kekana, who has been nominated for the same award four consecutive times and Kaizer Chiefs’ Lebogang Manyama.

This category is voted by the players in the Premier Division. Players are not allowed to vote for their own teammate.

In the highly sought-after category of the Absa Premiership Coach of the Season, Maritzburg United’s Eric Tinkler is up against Kaizer Chiefs former coach Ernst Middendorp and former Mamelodi Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane.

Mosimane has won the last two consecutive awards in this category. 


Footballer of the Season

Samir Nurkovic (Kaizer Chiefs)

Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park)

Gaston Sirino (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Lebogang Manyama (Kaizer Chiefs)

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season

Ernst Middendorp (Kaizer Chiefs)

Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Eric Tinkler (Maritzburg United)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season

Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United)

Goodman Mosele (Baroka FC)

Sphesihle Maduna (AmaZulu)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season

Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs)

Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season

Daniel Cardoso (Kaizer Chiefs)

Rushine De Reuck (Maritzburg United)

Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season

Lebogang Manyama (Kaizer Chiefs)

Thabo Nodada (Cape Town City)

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)


MTN8 Last Man Standing

Clayton Daniels (SuperSport United)

Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United)

Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)


Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament:

Judas Moseamedi (Maritzburg United)

Gaston Sirino (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player

Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC)

Sifiso Ngobeni (Bloemfontein Celtic)

*(under 23)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament

Terrence Dzvukamanja (Bidvest Wits)

Victor Letsoalo (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns)

XL subscribe to our newsletter banner

Get the latest news and advice on COVID-19, direct from the experts in your inbox. Join hundreds of thousands who trust experts by subscribing to our newsletter.

Send your news and stories to us or and WhatsApp: +447747873668.

Before you go...

Democratic norms are being stress-tested all over the world, and the past few years have thrown up all kinds of questions we didn't know needed clarifying – how long is too long for a parliamentary prorogation? How far should politicians be allowed to intervene in court cases? To monitor these issues as closely as we have in the past we need your support, so please consider donating to The Climax News Room.